Our team

Principal Investigator

Qian-newProf. Qian Chen

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Office: Materials Research Laboratory 102

Phone: (217) 300-1137

Email: qchen20@illinois.edu

 

Postdocs

Juyeong-newDr. Juyeong Kim

 

Ph.D. Chemistry, Penn State University (2015)

Postdoc: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2015-)

 

Email: jkim0610@illinois.edu

Xiaohui-newDr. Xiaohui Song

 

Ph.D. Chemistry, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (2016)

Postdoc: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2016-)

 

Email: xiaohui@illinois.edu

 

PhD students

ZihaoZihao Ou

 

B.S. Condensed Matter Physics, School of Gifted Young, USTC, China (2015)

Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2015-)

 

Email: zihaoou2@illinois.edu

Binbin Luo

 

B.S. Materials Chemistry, School of Chemistry and Materials Science, USTC, China (2015)

Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2015-)

 

Email: bluo6@illinois.edu

John Smith

 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2016)

Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2016-)

 

Email: jwsmith6@illinois.edu

Ahyoung Kim

 

B.S. Energy Engineering and Nanochemistry, UNIST, Korea (2016)

Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2016-)

 

Email: ahyoung2@illinois.edu

Cong Xu, co-advised with Prof. Steve Granick

 

B.S. Condensed Matter Physics, Fudan University, China (2013)

Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2013-)

 

Email: congxu4@illinois.edu

 

Visiting Professor

Adelé Poynor

 

Assistant Professor of Physics, Allegheny College

Ph.D.: Physics, UIUC (2006)

 

Email: adele.poynor@allegheny.edu

 

Undergrad students

BonanBonan Shen

 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2013-)

 

 

Email: bshen9@illinois.edu

YukaYuka Wada

 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2013-)

 

 

Email: ywada3@illinois.edu

BrianBrian Wu

 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, UIUC (2014-)

 

 

Email: zwu27@illinois.edu

JunliJunli Wu

 

B.S. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, UIUC (2016-)

 

 

Email: junliwu2@illinois.edu

 

Alumni

Fangfang Chu    Visiting scholar (April – May, 2015), currently Lab Manager at BASF, Germany.

Yuxiao Wu          Undergrad researcher (May – December, 2015), currently a PhD student at University of Minnesota.